Scores Upcoming Results
English county team Somerset is one of the two teams in the Champions League (CL) from England. Somerset Sabres runner-ups of English T20 domestic tournament 2024

Somerset, England

Somerset, EnglandSomerset County Cricket Club is one of the 18 major county clubs which make up the English domestic cricket structure, representing the historic county of Somerset. Its limited overs team is called the Somerset Sabres. The club has its headquarters at the County Cricket Ground, Taunton. First-class games are also played at Bath. Former grounds include Yeovil, Weston-super-Mare, Frome, Glastonbury, Wells and the Imperial Tobacco ground in south Bristol.

Origin of club
The formation of Somerset CCC was on 18 August 1875 by a team of amateurs at a meeting in Sidmouth, Devon immediately after a match against a local side. Somerset is the only one of the present first-class counties in English cricket whose county cricket club was founded outside the boundaries of the traditional county.

Somerset CCC played its initial first-class match versus Lancashire CCC at Old Trafford on 8, 9 and 10 June 1882 and joined the (then unofficial) County Championship, but for only four seasons initially.

In 1886, Somerset did not play any other first-class counties and dropped out of the Championship until 1891. Somerset was then able to arrange 12 matches against first-class counties and so force its way back into the Championship, which was now an official competition. Somerset CCC is therefore recognised as a first-class team from 1882 until 1885 and from 1891 to the present day.

There are alternative versions of Somerset's first-class matchlist in the 19th century. For more information, see Variations in First-Class Cricket Statistics.



  • Justin Langer(c)
  • Marcus Trescothick
  • Neil Edwards
  • Wes Durston
  • James Hildreth
  • Robin Lett
  • Richard Timms


  • Peter Trego
  • Omari Banks
  • Arul Suppiah
  • Alfonso Thomas
  • Zander de Bruyn
  • Ben Phillips


  • Craig Kieswetter
  • Carl Gazzard


  • Andrew Caddick
  • Steffan Jones
  • Michael Munday
  • Charl Willoughby
  • Mark Turner
  • Max Waller
  • David Stiff
Scores Upcoming Results
IPL 2022
IPL 2021
IPL 2020
IPL 2018
IPL 2017
IPL 2016
IPL 2015
IPL 2014
IPL 2013
IPL 2012
IPL 2011
IPL 2010
IPL 2009
IPL 2008
IPL Trophy
IPL Teams
IPL Rules
IPL Logo
IPL Live Telecast
IPL Tickets
IPL Cheerleaders
Winners 2008
IPL 2019
Champions T20 League
CLT20 2014
CLT20 2013
CLT20 2012
CLT20 2011
CLT20 2010
CLT20 2009
CL Format
CL History
Cape Cobras
Diamond Eagles
New South Wales Blues
Otago Volts
Trinidad & Tobago
Victoria Bushrangers