Scores Upcoming Results
Tata Indian Premier League (IPL) is a T20 cricket league that was created and promoted by the BCCI, with the complete backing of the ICC.

Indian Premier League (IPL)

Indian Premier League
Launched as well as promoted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Indian Premier League (IPL) made its debut in April 2008. Based on the English Premier League (football) and the National Basketball League (NBA) of the United States, IPL is a professional Twenty20 cricket league. It has been backed by the ICC and has a total of eight teams, with each of them being made up of a minimum of 16 players.

The first season of the Indian Premier League was kick-started on 18th April 2008. The season came to an end on 1st June 2008, with Rajasthan Royals was the champions. Just like the football and basketball leagues in America, Tata Indian Premier League has a franchise-system for hiring players as well as for transfers. The franchises are auctioned off, with the highest bidder being the owner of a particular team.

Player Auction & ICON Players
After the formation of IPL, the first players' auction took place on 20th February 2008. Out of all the Indian players, IPL placed 'icon status' on a select few, namely Rahul Dravid, Saurav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, and Virender Sehwag. Initially, VVS Laxman was also given icon status, but he opted out of it voluntarily. The main reason behind it was provide his team Deccan Chargers) with more money to bid for players. Icon players are not bid upon and play for their home city only.

Inaugural Season
The inaugural season i.e. the first season of IPL T20 cricket started on 18th April 2008, in Bangalore - the IT Hub of India. In the season, a total of 59 matches were scheduled, spread over 46 days. Of the 59 matches, only 58 were played, one being disrupted by rain. All the eight teams played against each other twice, in a round robin system. After each of the team had played with the seven other teams twice, the top four ranking sides moved to semi-finals. The winners of the two semi-finals played the finals, with its outcome deciding the champions.

IPL Teams
There are a total of ten teams (two suspends) in the Tata Indian Premier League (IPL) T20 Cricket, namely:

IPL Winner List

Season Winners Runner-up Dates
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings 8 April to 1 June
2009 Hyderabad Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore 18 April to 24 May
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians 15 March to 24 April
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore 8 April to 28 May
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings 4 April to 27 May
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 3 April to 26 May
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab 16 April to 1 June
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 8 April to 24 May
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore 9 April to 29 May
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants 5 April to 21 May
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad 7 April to 27 May
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 23 March to 12 May
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals 19 Sept. to 10 Nov.
2021 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders 9 April to 15 Oct.
2022 Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals 26 March to 29 May
2023 Chennai Super Kings Gujarat Titans 31 March to 29 May
Scores Upcoming Results
IPL 2022
IPL 2021
IPL 2020
IPL 2018
IPL 2017
IPL 2016
IPL 2015
IPL 2014
IPL 2013
IPL 2012
IPL 2011
IPL 2010
IPL 2009
IPL 2008
IPL Trophy
IPL Teams
IPL Rules
IPL Logo
IPL Live Telecast
IPL Tickets
IPL Cheerleaders
Winners 2008
IPL 2019
Champions T20 League
CLT20 2014
CLT20 2013
CLT20 2012
CLT20 2011
CLT20 2010
CLT20 2009
CL Format
CL History
Cape Cobras
Diamond Eagles
New South Wales Blues
Otago Volts
Trinidad & Tobago
Victoria Bushrangers