Scores Upcoming Results
Explore information on Gujarat Lions, the Rajkot-based franchise of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Suresh Raina is the captain for Keshav Bansal led Intex Technologies

Gujarat Lions

Gujarat LionsThe Gujarat Lions (GL) are a franchise cricket team based in the city of Rajkot, Gujarat that will play in the Indian Premier League from 2016 for only two seasons.

During the 2016 IPL players draft, Rajkot franchise picked Indian cricketers Suresh Raina and Ravindra Jadeja, along with Brendon McCullum, James Faulkner and Dwayne Bravo. In an event held in New Delhi, the Rajkot based team was named as Gujarat Lions and Suresh Raina was announced as their captain.

Like Pune, Gujarat too did not spend a lot, considering that their IPL stay is only for two years as replacement for suspended team Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, due to alleged illegal betting by their respective owners. The franchise is owned by Intex Technologies. They went about smartly, with their biggest buy coming at under 4 crore.

The opening of the IPL 2016, they finish at third, defeated by Sunrisers Hyderabad in second quarter-final. In group stage, they also finished at third with 8-6 win/lost ratio.

Year wise Team Performance

Year - Position
2016 - Third
2017 - Seventh

Gujarat Lions Players for 2017

Total cost of squad after 2017 auction:
INR 55.5 crore (USD 8.284 million approx)

Strengths: A terrific top order, including Suresh Raina, Australian Aaron Finch and Brendon McCullum from New Zealand.

Weaknesses: An overseas fast bowler because they have only one specialist in Andrew Tye - bought no one.

Retention and transfers:

  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • James Faulkner
  • Dhawal Kulkarni
  • Pradeep Sangwan
  • Shadab Jakati
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Praveen Kumar
  • Suresh Raina
  • Jaydev Shah
  • Brendon McCullum
  • Andrew Tye
  • Dwayne Bravo
  • Dwayne Smith
  • Aaron Finch
  • Ishan Kishan
  • Shivil Kaushik

Acquired in auction 2017:

  • Jason Roy (INR 1 crore)
  • Chirag Suri (INR 10 lakh)
  • Basil Thampi (INR 85 lakh)
  • Manpreet Gony (INR 60 lakh)
  • Nathu Singh (INR 50 lakh)
  • Munaf Patel (INR 30 lakh)
  • Shubham Agarwal (INR 10 lakh)
  • Tejas Baroka (INR 10 lakh)
  • Pratham Singh (INR 10 lakh)
  • Akshdeep Nath (INR 10 lakh)
  • Shelley Shaurya (INR 10 lakh)

2017 full squad

Support Staffs/Coaches:

  • Captain: Suresh Raina
  • Head Coach: Brad Hodge (Australia)
  • Assistant Coach: Shitanshu Kotak
  • Bowling Coach: Heath Streak
  • Physiotherapist: Saif Hasan Naqvi
  • Video Analyst: Prasanna Agoram


  • Owner: Keshav Bansal (Intex Technologies)
  • Founded: 2016
Scores Upcoming Results
IPL 2022
IPL 2021
IPL 2020
IPL 2018
IPL 2017
IPL 2016
IPL 2015
IPL 2014
IPL 2013
IPL 2012
IPL 2011
IPL 2010
IPL 2009
IPL 2008
IPL Trophy
IPL Teams
IPL Rules
IPL Logo
IPL Live Telecast
IPL Tickets
IPL Cheerleaders
Winners 2008
IPL 2019
Champions T20 League
CLT20 2014
CLT20 2013
CLT20 2012
CLT20 2011
CLT20 2010
CLT20 2009
CL Format
CL History
Cape Cobras
Diamond Eagles
New South Wales Blues
Otago Volts
Trinidad & Tobago
Victoria Bushrangers