Live Scores Upcoming Results
The players of Mumbai Indians, the IPL team owned by Reliance Industries, have the legendary Sachin Tendulkar was first captain.

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai IndiansMumbai Indians represents one of the eight cricket teams in the Indian Premier League. Owned by India's biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, through its 100% subsidiary Ratipriya Trading, the team was auctioned off for $111.9 million, making it the most expensive team in the entire IPL squad. Mumbai Indians has led in first edition by none other than the legendary player Sachin Tendulkar himself, who was also its 'Icon Player'.

Unveiled on the 17th April 2008, in Mumbai, the team won the right to hold the semi-finals and the final in their host city. Even though Mumbai Indians had a bad tally, of 7 wins and 7 losses, it stood at fifth rank, with 14 points and net run rate of +0.570. The color of the team is blue, while its jersey is a two-tone blue, with three orange stripes.

The brand ambassador of Mumbai Indians is the current heartthrob of Bollywood - Hrithik Roshan. The team has two home grounds - Wankhede Stadium and Dr. D.Y. Patil Sports Academy. They won the 2011 and 2013 Champions League Twenty20. The team won its first IPL title, in 2013, by defeating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the finals played at Kolkata. And at Eden Garden they again winner in 2015.

Mumbai had a settled squad before the auction and they strengthened it further by buying Buttler and Southee, along with a few domestic names.

Captain Change
In the initial stages of its first season, Mumbai Indians lost its captain, Sachin Tendulkar, because of a hamstring injury. Thereafter, Harbhajan Singh took over, but was suspended for slapping Sreesanth. The captaincy was then handled by Shaun Pollock, till the return of Tendulkar, on 14th May 2008. In 2014, Aussies legend Ricky Ponting led in initial match but the Mumbai Indians are currently captained by Rohit Sharma, and coached by John Wright.

The logo of Delhi Daredevils has a Sudarshan chakra in it, along with the team's name.

Year wise Team Performance

Year - Position
2008 - Fifth
2009 - Seventh
2010 - Runner-up
2011 - Third
2012 - Fourth
2013 - Winner
2014 - Fourth
2015 - Winner
2016 - Fifth
2017 - Winner
2018 - Fifth

Mumbai Indians Players for 2019

Squad strength: 24 (Indian 16, overseas 8)

Players bought in auction: 6

Total cost of squad after 2019 auction: INR 76.45 Crore

Purse at the end of the auction: INR. 3.55 Crore


  • Rohit Sharma (Capt.)
  • Yuvraj Singh
  • P Jaswal
  • Mayank Markande
  • Rasikh Dar
  • Anmolpreet Singh
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Rahul Chahar
  • Barinder Sran
  • Krunal Pandya
  • Ishan Kishan (wk)
  • Anukul Roy
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Siddhesh Lad
  • Aditya Tare (wk)


  • Lasith Malinga (SL)
  • Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)
  • Kieron Pollard (WI)
  • Ben Cutting (Aus)
  • Adam Milne (NZ)
  • Jason Behrendorff (Aus)
  • Evin Lewis (WI)
  • Q de Kock (wk, SA)

Administration and Support Staffs/Coaches:

  • Owner - Reliance Industries
  • Head coach - Mahela Jayawardene (SL)
  • Assistant coach - Paras Mhambrey (India)
  • Batting coach - Robin Singh (India)
  • Bowling coach - Shane Bond (NZ)
  • Fielding coach - James Pamment (England)
  • Team manager - Rahul Sanghvi (India)
  • Batting Mentor - Sachin Tendulkar (India)
  • Bowling Mentor - Lasith Malinga (SL)
Live Scores Upcoming Results
IPL 2018
IPL 2017
IPL 2016
IPL 2015
IPL 2014
IPL 2013
IPL 2012
IPL 2011
IPL 2010
IPL 2009
IPL 2008
IPL Trophy
IPL Teams
IPL Rules
IPL Logo
IPL Live Telecast
IPL Tickets
IPL Cheerleaders
Winners 2008
Champions T20 League
CLT20 2014
CLT20 2013
CLT20 2012
CLT20 2011
CLT20 2010
CLT20 2009
CL Format
CL History
Cape Cobras
Diamond Eagles
New South Wales Blues
Otago Volts
Trinidad & Tobago
Victoria Bushrangers