Scores Upcoming Results
Explore information on Royal Challengers Bangalore is owned by Vijay Mallya's UB Group. The players of this IPL franchise are led by Virat Kohli.

Bangalore Royal Challengers

Bangalore Royal Challengers Royal Challengers Bangalore, also known as RCB, is the team that represents the "IT City of India" - Bangalore, in the Indian Premier League (IPL). It is owned by none other than the liquor magnate and the owner of Kingfisher Airlines, Vijay Mallya, through his flagship firm UB Group. Rahul Dravid, former captain of Indian nation cricket team and also an "Icon Player", leads the players of RCB in 2008, but now skipper of the team is Virat Kohli. Ray Jennings, the former South African coach, is the head coach of the team, while Venkatesh Prasad is the bowling coach.

Vijay Mallya paid US$ 111.6 million for Royal Challengers Bangalore, next only to Mukesh Ambani's Reliance Industries, which bid $111.9 million for Mumbai Indians in 2008. The colors of the team are red and golden yellow, while its home ground is M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. Bollywood beauties Katrina Kaif and Deepika Padukone, along with Sandalwood film stars Ramya and Upendra, are the brand ambassadors of the team.

In the last season i.e. 2016, Royal Challengers Bangalore won only five matches in first seven game but ended as a runner-up. His captain Virat Kohli declared player of the tournament for outstanding performance. The team has a theme song as well, which is called "Thakkath Geete". The song has been composed with the assistance of TV9.

Shane Watson's inclusion further strengthened RCB's power-packed batting order while they also addressed the all-rounder's slots with his inclusion, along with that of Binny. Richardson's presence boosts the pace department while RCB also bought a couple of spinners. Apart from Watson, they did not splurge big money on the players, which they have been famous for in the previous seasons, choosing instead to invest on a well-rounded squad. However, their approach this time bordered on being over-cautious as they ended up buying most of the bowlers only towards the fag end of the auction.

The logo of Royal Challengers Bangalore comprises of the RC emblem, with the team's name written in the standard format.

Year wise Team Performance

Year - Position
2008 - Seventh
2009 - Runner-up
2010 - Third
2011 - Runner-up
2012 - Fifth
2013 - Fifth
2014 - Seventh
2015 - Fourth
2016 - Runner-up
2017 - Eighth
2018 - Sixth
2019 - Eighth

Royal Challengers Bangalore 2020 full squad


  • Virat Kohli (Captain) - India
  • Gurkeerat Singh - India
  • Devdutt Padikkal - India
  • Aaron Finch - Australia


  • Shivam Dube - India
  • Moeen Ali - England
  • Pawan Negi - India
  • Washington Sundar - India
  • Chris Morris - South Africa
  • Pavan Deshpande - India


  • AB de Villiers - South Africa
  • Parthiv Patel - India
  • Josh Philippe - Australia


  • Yuzvendra Chahal - India
  • Mohammed Siraj - India
  • Umesh Yadav - India
  • Navdeep Saini - India
  • Kane Richardson - Australia
  • Dale Steyn - South Africa
  • Shahbaz Ahmed - India
  • Isuru Udana - Sri Lanka

Administration and Support Staffs/Coaches:

  • Owner - United Spirits Limited, England Diageo
  • Chairman - Sanjeev Churiwala
  • Team and cricket operations manager - Avinash Vaidya
  • Director of cricket operations - Mike Hesson
  • Head coach - Simon Katich
  • Assistant coach - Mithun Manhas
  • Strength and conditioning coach - Basu Shanker
  • Physiotherapist - Evan Speechly
  • Sports massage therapist - Navnita Gautam
Scores Upcoming Results
IPL 2022
IPL 2021
IPL 2020
IPL 2018
IPL 2017
IPL 2016
IPL 2015
IPL 2014
IPL 2013
IPL 2012
IPL 2011
IPL 2010
IPL 2009
IPL 2008
IPL Trophy
IPL Teams
IPL Rules
IPL Logo
IPL Live Telecast
IPL Tickets
IPL Cheerleaders
Winners 2008
IPL 2019
Champions T20 League
CLT20 2014
CLT20 2013
CLT20 2012
CLT20 2011
CLT20 2010
CLT20 2009
CL Format
CL History
Cape Cobras
Diamond Eagles
New South Wales Blues
Otago Volts
Trinidad & Tobago
Victoria Bushrangers