Live Scores Upcoming Results
Emerging Media, a UK-based company, bought Rajasthan Royals (the Jaipur team) for $67 million. Rajasthan Royals won the inauguration tournament under legend Shane Warne.

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan RoyalsRepresenting the 'Desert State of India', Rajasthan Royals makes up one of the eight franchises of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Winner of the first season of IPL i.e. IPL 2008, the team was captained as well as coached by Shane Warne. With this, it has become the only team in the Indian Premier League to have a foreign captain and coach. There was also no 'Icon Player' in the team. Rajasthan Royals was auctioned off for US $67 million, to Emerging Media, with Lachlan Murdoch, Sir Aditya S Chellaram and Suresh Chellaram being other investors.

The Rajasthan Royals franchise is owned and chaired by Manoj Badale. Other investors include Ryan Tkalcevic, Lachlan Murdoch, Aditya S Chellaram, Bollywood actress Shilpa Shetty and Suresh Chellaram and her business partner Raj Kundra later bought 11.7% stake in Rajasthan Royals, by paying around US $15.4 million. The team made up the least expensive franchise in the Indian Premier and initially, was not at all favored as a winner. However, it proved the speculators wrong and ended the preliminary round with an impressive 11 wins and only 3 losses. Rajasthan Royals won the semi-final, after defeating Delhi Daredevils, and clinched the finals as well, beating Chennai Super Kings in inauguration tournament.

Last IPL, in 2015, the captained by Steven Smith and Shane Watson (some matches) and they finished at fourth spot.

The logo of Rajasthan Royals comprises of a two lions blowing the war horn and flanking the RR insignia, along with the team's name.

Year wise Team Performance

Year - Position
2008 - Winner
2009 - Sixth
2010 - Seventh
2011 - Sixth
2012 - Seventh
2013 - Third
2014 - Fifth
2015 - Fourth

Rajasthan Royals Players for 2017

Squad strength: 25 (Indian 16, overseas 9)

Squad cost: INR 54.45 crore

Strengths: They managed to buy the most players and still have the most economical squad. They have depth in every department.

Weaknesses: A lot of their back-up players are relatively inexperienced and untested, but that is in keeping with previous Rajasthan squads.


  • Karun Nair (India)
  • Ajinkya Rahane (India)
  • Brad Hodge (Australia)
  • Jack Mattingly (Australia)

All Rounders:

  • Shane Watson (Australia, captain)
  • James Faulkner (Australia)
  • Stuart Binny (India)
  • Kevon Cooper (West Indies)
  • Rajat Bhatia (India)
  • Abhishek Nayar (India)
  • Steven Smith (Australia)

Wicket Keepers:

  • Sanju Samson (India)
  • Ankush Bains (India)
  • Dishant Yagnik (India)


  • Pravin Tambe (India)
  • Amit Mishra (India)
  • Dhawal Kulkarni (India)
  • Kane Richardson (Australia)
  • Deepak Hooda (India)
  • Ben Cutting (Australia)
  • Iqbal Abdulla (India)
  • Tim Southee (New Zealand)
  • Rahul Tewatia (India)
  • Vikramjeet Malik (India)
  • Ankit Sharma (India)

Support Staffs/Coaches:

  • Head Coach: Paddy Upton (South Africa)
  • Mentor: Rahul Dravid (India)
  • Coach: Monty Desai (India)
  • Physio: John Gloster (Australia)
  • Masseur: Derek Sedgmen (Australia)
  • Logistics Manager: Romi Bhinder (India)
  • Analyst: Panish Shetty (India)

Support Staffs/Coaches:

  • Owner(s): Emerging Media, Shilpa Shetty, Raj Kundra
  • CEO: Manoj Badale
  • Director: Zubin Bharucha (India)
  • Manager: Sushil Tulaskar (India)
Live Scores Upcoming Results
IPL 2016
IPL 2015
IPL 2014
IPL 2013
IPL 2012
IPL 2011
IPL 2010
IPL 2009
IPL 2008
IPL Trophy
IPL Teams
IPL Rules
IPL Logo
IPL Live Telecast
IPL Tickets
IPL Cheerleaders
Winners 2008
Champions T20 League
CLT20 2014
CLT20 2013
CLT20 2012
CLT20 2011
CLT20 2010
CLT20 2009
CL Format
CL History
Cape Cobras
Diamond Eagles
New South Wales Blues
Otago Volts
Trinidad & Tobago
Victoria Bushrangers