Live Scores Upcoming Results
Explore information on Chennai Super Kings owned by India Cements Ltd -- is one of the three teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) that does not have an 'Icon Player' amidst its players.

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings Chennai Super Kings, as the name suggests, is the Chennai-based franchise of the Indian Premier League. The team is owned by Indian Cements, which paid US$ 91 million to acquire its rights for 10 years. Led by the current captain of Indian cricket team, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the team has Stephen Fleming, New Zealand player, as its coach. The brand ambassador of Chennai Super Kings is Tamil super star Vijay. It has M. A. Chidambaram Stadium (popularly known as Chepauk) as its home ground. The team's colors are yellow and blue.

The Super Kings are the most successful team in the IPL having won the title twice in succession (2010 and 2011) and reached the play-offs every season. CSK also won Champions League Twenty20 in 2010. Chennai Super Kings is one of the three teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) with no 'Icon Player'.

The logo of Chennai Super Kings has a roaring lion in it, along with a crown and the team's name.

Year wise Team Performance

Year - Position
2008 - Runner-up
2009 - Semi-finalist
2010 - Winner
2011 - Winner
2012 - Runner-up
2013 - Runner-up
2014 - Third
2015 - Runner-up
2016 - Suspend
2017 - Suspend
2018 - Winner

Chennai Super Kings Players for 2019

Squad strength: 25 (Indian 17, overseas 8)

Players bought in auction: 2

Total cost of squad after 2019 auction: INR 76.80 crore

Purse at the end of the auction: INR. 3.2 Crore


  • MS Dhoni (Capt. & wk)
  • Ruturaj Gaikwad
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Mohit Sharma
  • Suresh Raina
  • Harbhajan Singh
  • Deepak Chahar
  • Karn Sharma
  • KM Asif
  • Murali Vijay
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Chaitanya Bishnoi
  • Monu Kumar
  • Ambati Rayudu
  • Dhruv Shorey
  • Narayan Jagadeesan (wk)


  • Faf du Plessis (SA)
  • Shane Watson (Aus)
  • David Willey (Eng)
  • Imran Tahir (SA)
  • Mitchell Santner (NZ)
  • Lungi Ngidi (SA)
  • Dwayne Bravo (WI)
  • Sam Billings (wk, Eng)

Administration and Support Staffs/Coaches:

  • Owner - India Cements Ltd.
  • Head Coach - Stephen Fleming (NZ)
  • Batting coach - Michael Hussey (Australia)
  • Bowling coach - Lakshmipathy Balaji (India)
  • Bowling consultant - Eric Simons (SA)
  • Fielding coach - Rajiv Kumar (India)
  • Physical trainer - Gregory King
  • Physio - Tommy Simsek
  • Team Doctor - Dr.Madhu
  • Logistics Manager - Sanjay Natarajan
  • Team manager - Russell Radhakrishnan
  • High Performance analyst - Lakshmi Narayanan
Live Scores Upcoming Results
IPL 2018
IPL 2017
IPL 2016
IPL 2015
IPL 2014
IPL 2013
IPL 2012
IPL 2011
IPL 2010
IPL 2009
IPL 2008
IPL Trophy
IPL Teams
IPL Rules
IPL Logo
IPL Live Telecast
IPL Tickets
IPL Cheerleaders
Winners 2008
Champions T20 League
CLT20 2014
CLT20 2013
CLT20 2012
CLT20 2011
CLT20 2010
CLT20 2009
CL Format
CL History
Cape Cobras
Diamond Eagles
New South Wales Blues
Otago Volts
Trinidad & Tobago
Victoria Bushrangers